The Aggressive by Gem Jackson

The Aggressive by Gem Jackson is a gut-wrenching explosion of a debut, and one of the best sci-fi books I’ve read this year. I first heard about it in this positive review, so I was excited when the author offered me a copy in exchange for an honest opinion. I’m glad to see that Dean fromContinue reading “The Aggressive by Gem Jackson”

Afterland by Lauren Beukes

A slow-burn story about a mother and son on the run, Lauren Beukes’ dystopian thriller Afterland contains some of the most impressive prose I’ve come across recently. It’s a feminist critique of patriarchal society written from the least likely angle: by killing all the men. This book is the second pandemic novel I’ve read thisContinue reading “Afterland by Lauren Beukes”

Red Noise by John P. Murphy

Red Noise by John P. Murphy has been described as an Akira Kurosawa and spaghetti western-inspired sci-fi romp. Having only a passing familiarity with either of those, I was hoping for some epic Kill Bill-in-space vibes, and I’m pleased to report that’s exactly what I got. ‘A half-empty station wasn’t so bad. Ideal, in some ways.Continue reading “Red Noise by John P. Murphy”

The Phlebotomist by Chris Panatier

As a trained phlebotomist, I’m fully qualified to tell you that this book is bloody fun. Chris Panatier’s upcoming debut novel has satisfied a thirst I didn’t know I had for a dystopian heist adventure. The Phlebotomist is set in 2067 after a series of nuclear attacks have led to radiation poisoning and a slewContinue reading “The Phlebotomist by Chris Panatier”

The House of Styx by Derek Künsken

While aspiring authors are often told to “write the book you want to read”, booklovers are constantly on a mission to read the book they want to read. We search for those memorable stories that feel deeply personal and stay in our thoughts for years. For me, The House of Styx is one of thoseContinue reading “The House of Styx by Derek Künsken”

CHAOS VECTOR by Megan E. O’Keefe

“We all have our one… The one person you’d burn the universe down to save, or to condemn.” “And do we get one of each?” She smiled to herself, tight and strained. “No. Life’s never that clean.” I recently read the first instalment in The Protectorate series, now one of my all-time favourite sci-fi booksContinue reading “CHAOS VECTOR by Megan E. O’Keefe”

INTERVIEW: The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis

The First Sister is an upcoming debut novel from queer author Linden A. Lewis. The first instalment in an epic space opera trilogy, this book has already received rave reviews and been labelled a must-read for fans of Ann Leckie, Margaret Atwood, Pierce Brown and James S. A. Corey. Today I had the privilege ofContinue reading “INTERVIEW: The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis”

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

Back in May, I went on a crazed Netgalley requesting spree that resulted in a daunting queue of books on my Kindle. With the pressure to get them read and reviewed before their publish dates I’ve been reading as fast as I can, often without sparing the time to re-read the book descriptions that IContinue reading “The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson”

VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe

VELOCITY WEAPON is the first instalment in O’Keefe’s The Protectorate series. It has been on my To Be Read list since it was published last year. I couldn’t actually recall the premise, but rather than checking the blurb, I jumped straight in and… wow. When I read what is probably my favourite prologue of allContinue reading “VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe”

Review: Hugo Awards Best Novellas 2020

I’m thrilled to say that I’ve completed my June #ReadersWithoutBorders challenge to read the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella finalists! Thank you to all the lovely people who have donated and to @JDRoberts_SFF for organising this event. He has raised £57 for Doctors Without Borders over the month! Tor.com was the first publisherContinue reading “Review: Hugo Awards Best Novellas 2020”