Afterland by Lauren Beukes

A slow-burn story about a mother and son on the run, Lauren Beukes’ dystopian thriller Afterland contains some of the most impressive prose I’ve come across recently. It’s a feminist critique of patriarchal society written from the least likely angle: by killing all the men. This book is the second pandemic novel I’ve read thisContinue reading “Afterland by Lauren Beukes”

The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart

I read The Bone Shard Daughter back in May, so I’m thrilled that I can FINALLY tell you how fantastic this debut fantasy novel is. Being my favourite read of 2020 so far, I’ve even pre-ordered two different signed editions (roll on September)! If you’re looking for an epic fantasy escape, you will love thisContinue reading “The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart”

The House of Styx by Derek Künsken

While aspiring authors are often told to “write the book you want to read”, booklovers are constantly on a mission to read the book they want to read. We search for those memorable stories that feel deeply personal and stay in our thoughts for years. For me, The House of Styx is one of thoseContinue reading “The House of Styx by Derek Künsken”

We Ride the Storm by Devin Madson

I was lucky enough to win a copy of We Ride the Storm from the author who was commemorating the surprise #kiill typo in the UK edition. This novel is the first instalment in a stand-alone quartet following the events of The Vengeance Trilogy. It has received a lot of attention having been a runner-upContinue reading “We Ride the Storm by Devin Madson”

CHAOS VECTOR by Megan E. O’Keefe

“We all have our one… The one person you’d burn the universe down to save, or to condemn.” “And do we get one of each?” She smiled to herself, tight and strained. “No. Life’s never that clean.” I recently read the first instalment in The Protectorate series, now one of my all-time favourite sci-fi booksContinue reading “CHAOS VECTOR by Megan E. O’Keefe”

INTERVIEW: The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis

The First Sister is an upcoming debut novel from queer author Linden A. Lewis. The first instalment in an epic space opera trilogy, this book has already received rave reviews and been labelled a must-read for fans of Ann Leckie, Margaret Atwood, Pierce Brown and James S. A. Corey. Today I had the privilege ofContinue reading “INTERVIEW: The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis”

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

Back in May, I went on a crazed Netgalley requesting spree that resulted in a daunting queue of books on my Kindle. With the pressure to get them read and reviewed before their publish dates I’ve been reading as fast as I can, often without sparing the time to re-read the book descriptions that IContinue reading “The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson”

Knightmare Arcanist by Shami Stovall

Volke is an outcast, the orphan of criminal parents with no prospects beyond his gravedigging apprenticeship. Yet he dreams of becoming a famous arcanist – a person who bonds with a mystical animal and gains unique, magical abilities. “The white hart huffed and let out a single laugh. Then he turned to face me, hisContinue reading “Knightmare Arcanist by Shami Stovall”

VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe

VELOCITY WEAPON is the first instalment in O’Keefe’s The Protectorate series. It has been on my To Be Read list since it was published last year. I couldn’t actually recall the premise, but rather than checking the blurb, I jumped straight in and… wow. When I read what is probably my favourite prologue of allContinue reading “VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe”

Review: Hugo Awards Best Novellas 2020

I’m thrilled to say that I’ve completed my June #ReadersWithoutBorders challenge to read the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella finalists! Thank you to all the lovely people who have donated and to @JDRoberts_SFF for organising this event. He has raised £57 for Doctors Without Borders over the month! Tor.com was the first publisherContinue reading “Review: Hugo Awards Best Novellas 2020”