The Phlebotomist by Chris Panatier

As a trained phlebotomist, I’m fully qualified to tell you that this book is bloody fun. Chris Panatier’s upcoming debut novel has satisfied a thirst I didn’t know I had for a dystopian heist adventure. The Phlebotomist is set in 2067 after a series of nuclear attacks have led to radiation poisoning and a slewContinue reading “The Phlebotomist by Chris Panatier”

The House of Styx by Derek Künsken

While aspiring authors are often told to “write the book you want to read”, booklovers are constantly on a mission to read the book they want to read. We search for those memorable stories that feel deeply personal and stay in our thoughts for years. For me, The House of Styx is one of thoseContinue reading “The House of Styx by Derek Künsken”

CHAOS VECTOR by Megan E. O’Keefe

“We all have our one… The one person you’d burn the universe down to save, or to condemn.” “And do we get one of each?” She smiled to herself, tight and strained. “No. Life’s never that clean.” I recently read the first instalment in The Protectorate series, now one of my all-time favourite sci-fi booksContinue reading “CHAOS VECTOR by Megan E. O’Keefe”

INTERVIEW: The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis

The First Sister is an upcoming debut novel from queer author Linden A. Lewis. The first instalment in an epic space opera trilogy, this book has already received rave reviews and been labelled a must-read for fans of Ann Leckie, Margaret Atwood, Pierce Brown and James S. A. Corey. Today I had the privilege ofContinue reading “INTERVIEW: The First Sister by Linden A. Lewis”

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

Back in May, I went on a crazed Netgalley requesting spree that resulted in a daunting queue of books on my Kindle. With the pressure to get them read and reviewed before their publish dates I’ve been reading as fast as I can, often without sparing the time to re-read the book descriptions that IContinue reading “The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson”

VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe

VELOCITY WEAPON is the first instalment in O’Keefe’s The Protectorate series. It has been on my To Be Read list since it was published last year. I couldn’t actually recall the premise, but rather than checking the blurb, I jumped straight in and… wow. When I read what is probably my favourite prologue of allContinue reading “VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe”

Review: Hugo Awards Best Novellas 2020

I’m thrilled to say that I’ve completed my June #ReadersWithoutBorders challenge to read the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella finalists! Thank you to all the lovely people who have donated and to @JDRoberts_SFF for organising this event. He has raised £57 for Doctors Without Borders over the month! Tor.com was the first publisherContinue reading “Review: Hugo Awards Best Novellas 2020”

The Light Brigade by Kameron Hurley

So this is my final review of books shortlisted for the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel! Check out my June post for more Hugos reviews, as well as information about the #ReadersWithoutBorders charity readathon. There’s still time to donate for your chance to win a free book! A vast battleground is established between Earth andContinue reading “The Light Brigade by Kameron Hurley”

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

By now you’ll know that I’m participating in the #ReadersWithoutBorders June reading challenge. I’m spreading my posts out, but I’m currently reading the final best novel finalist before I dive into the six best novella finalists! Its been a varied experience so far, perhaps because I’ve had relatively high expectations for all of the novels.Continue reading “A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine”

The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders

As I mentioned in my June TBR post, this month I am participating in the #ReadersWithoutBorders readathon organised by @JDRoberts_SFF over at The Worlds of Sci-fi & Fantasy. He is raising money for Medecins Sans Frontieres / Doctors Without Borders (MSF). Check out his event post to find out how you can participate, or toContinue reading “The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders”