Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

For the #ReadersWithoutBorders June readathon I’m currently reading the finalists for the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella. Check out The Worlds of SFF for more information and the chance to win a book or three! You may not be surprised by my rating of Gideon the Ninth given the hype it has received.Continue reading “Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir”

Middlegame by Seanan McGuire

For the #ReadersWithoutBorders June readathon I’m currently reading the finalists for the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella. Check out The Worlds of SFF for more information and the chance to win a book or three! Middlegame is an incredibly ambitious book that is universal in scope. I’ve been sitting on this review forContinue reading “Middlegame by Seanan McGuire”

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

I’ve had Ten Thousand Doors of January for months but postponed reading it as I’d recently finished Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series and felt my portal fantasy quota had been met for the year. However I’m glad I picked it up as part of my Hugo Award readathon for #Readerswithoutborders, as it’s a completely differentContinue reading “The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow”

Feathertide by Beth Cartwright

Feathertide is a heartfelt coming of age story written in the style of a fairy tale, making it a perfect next read for fans of Naomi Novik or Katherine Arden. Marea is born with a unique trait of mysterious origin – golden bird feathers, covering her body. As a girl, her mother convinces her thatContinue reading “Feathertide by Beth Cartwright”

The Girl and the Stars by Mark Lawrence (Book of the Ice 1)

I’m a Mark Lawrence virgin. There, I said it. But The Girl and the Stars caught my attention as it has a similar setting to Megan Lindholm’s (Robin Hobb’s) amazing Reindeer People duology, and I only have two regrets. The first, that I left it so darn long to pick up one of Lawrence’s books.Continue reading “The Girl and the Stars by Mark Lawrence (Book of the Ice 1)”