The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart

I read The Bone Shard Daughter back in May, so I’m thrilled that I can FINALLY tell you how fantastic this debut fantasy novel is. Being my favourite read of 2020 so far, I’ve even pre-ordered two different signed editions (roll on September)! If you’re looking for an epic fantasy escape, you will love thisContinue reading “The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart”

We Ride the Storm by Devin Madson

I was lucky enough to win a copy of We Ride the Storm from the author who was commemorating the surprise #kiill typo in the UK edition. This novel is the first instalment in a stand-alone quartet following the events of The Vengeance Trilogy. It has received a lot of attention having been a runner-upContinue reading “We Ride the Storm by Devin Madson”

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

For the #ReadersWithoutBorders June readathon I’m currently reading the finalists for the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella. Check out The Worlds of SFF for more information and the chance to win a book or three! You may not be surprised by my rating of Gideon the Ninth given the hype it has received.Continue reading “Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir”

Middlegame by Seanan McGuire

For the #ReadersWithoutBorders June readathon I’m currently reading the finalists for the 2020 Hugo Awards best novel and novella. Check out The Worlds of SFF for more information and the chance to win a book or three! Middlegame is an incredibly ambitious book that is universal in scope. I’ve been sitting on this review forContinue reading “Middlegame by Seanan McGuire”

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

I’ve had Ten Thousand Doors of January for months but postponed reading it as I’d recently finished Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series and felt my portal fantasy quota had been met for the year. However, I’m glad I picked it up as part of my Hugo Award readathon for #Readerswithoutborders, as it’s an entirely differentContinue reading “The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow”

Feathertide by Beth Cartwright

Feathertide is a heartfelt coming of age story written in the style of a fairy tale, making it a perfect next read for fans of Naomi Novik or Katherine Arden. Marea is born with a unique trait of mysterious origin – golden bird feathers covering her body. As a girl, her mother convinces her thatContinue reading “Feathertide by Beth Cartwright”

The Girl and the Stars by Mark Lawrence (Book of the Ice 1)

I’m a Mark Lawrence virgin. There, I said it. But The Girl and the Stars caught my attention as it has a similar setting to Megan Lindholm’s (Robin Hobb’s) amazing Reindeer People duology. I only have two regrets. The first, that I left it so darn long to pick up one of Lawrence’s books. TheContinue reading “The Girl and the Stars by Mark Lawrence (Book of the Ice 1)”